OMRON Forums

Enabling "Master Pos Following" while "Master Position"-value is changing

meindert.norg

LS,

I have a question about what happens to a motor's setpoint when the master position is engaged (e.g. I106 is changed from 0 to 1).

This is my configuration:

• 1 motor (#1) with encoder feedback
  • ADC input connected to #1 master-position
  • Master Pos Following off (I106=0)

During startup, one of the first things that happens is motor-homing. During this phase, the ADC value for the master-position can be changing, but is ignored.

After homing is complete, and the motor is moved to zero, the motor must start following the 'master position'. The ADC voltage represents the absolute motor-position, lets say 1V = 1 degree (with e.g. "Master Scale Factor" I107 = 1000), so with an ADC range of +- 10 V I have a range of +- 10 degrees. Numbers are just an example.

My plan was to:

1. Set "Master Scale Factor" (I107) to 0
  2. Enable "Position Following Enable" (I106 = 1)
  3. Slowly increase "Master Scale Factor" (I107) from 0 to 1000 over e.g. 1 second.

This way I could slowly 'pull' the motor towards the position as indicated with by the ADC voltage, and the ADC voltage would be allowed to change while doing this.

However, when changing the "Master Scale Factor" (I107) or "Position Following Enable" (I106) the actual motor setpoint does not change (which in general is nice, because otherwise that would generate an step in setpoint, which is normally undesired), but is somehow offset with the master position value.

My questions:

• What exactly is done with setpoints / master position values / offsets when I set I106 to 1 after I set I107 to 1000?
  • In other words, where is the change in "Master Position"-value compensated for?
  • And most importantly: what can I do to implement the desired behavior?

Regards, Meindert Norg

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic