OMRON Forums

ACC-24E2A hardware setup

mjunker

I am new to Delta Tau products and am trying to setup to hardware we have. I will give a brief description of my system. One 16-axis MACRO CPU, one PMAC2 VME ULTRALITE, two ACC-24E2A analog servos (4 channels), and four ACC-24E2S encoder steppers. I also have a second 16-axis MACRO CPU that is currently not installed.

I have noticed what appears to be a discrepancy between the base board address of the servo IC's in the ACC-24E2A user manual (pg. 7) and the 16-axis MACRO CPU manual (pg. 7). Is there a difference between a base address and a board base address?

I am also am failing to understand the differences between a servo channel and a node (as well as many other concepts)? Is there any documentation that would be a good for a new user?

Kind regards,

Mark

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Mark,

The discrepancy that you mentioned is because of the fact that ACC-24E2A manual is shown the base address if you wanted to use it with a MACRO8 CPU which is an older product compared with MACRO16 CPU which you're using. The MACRO 8 can only support 2 ACC-24E2(X) type cards. MACRO16 CPU in contrast can support 8 ACC-24E2(X) cards.

A servo channel is a set of encoder input, flag inputs and amplifier command outputs. Every DSPGate (one available on each ACC-24E2(X) ) has 4 servo channels, which means it can be connected to 4 separate servo systems.

A node is a means for transferring data over the MACRO ring. Each node on a ring master transmits 72-bit of data packet (4 registers , 1st one 24-bits and 3 16-bit registers) to its corresponding node on the slave device and in return the slave responds with another 72-bit data packet with same construction.

There are 2 types of nodes. Nodes 0,1,4,5,8,9,12,13,... are called servo nodes, where the data structure is predefined. Nodes 2,3,6,7,10,11,... are IO nodes where the data structure is dependent on customer and application.